Four Alumni Nominated to Superior Court Bench

Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont has nominated four UConn Law alumni to serve as judges of the Superior Court. They are Karen DeMeola ’96, a member of the UConn Law staff for 22 years who currently serves as the inaugural assistant dean for diversity, belonging and community engagement; Paul R. Doyle ’90, a partner of Kennedy Doyle LLC; Walter A. Menjivar ’12, an assistant attorney general in the Connecticut Attorney General’s Office; and Emily Wagner ’06, an appellate public defender at the Connecticut Division of Public Defender Services.

Seven UConn Law Alumni Nominated to Superior Court

Seven graduates of the UConn School of Law were nominated to the Connecticut Supreme Court by Gov. Ned Lamont on April 13, 2022. They are Scott R. Chadwick ’87, a probate judge and litigator; Assistant Connecticut Attorney General Thamar Esperance-Smith ’11; Assistant Connecticut Attorney General Josephine S. Graff ’01; New Britain State’s Attorney Brian W. Preleski ’91; Charles M. Stango ’95, the supervisory assistant state’s attorney in Milford; Greater Hartford Legal Aid attorney Cecil J. Thomas ’06; and David L. Zagaja ’93, supervisory assistant state’s attorney.

Cecil J. Thomas ’06 Appointed as the CBA’s President

The Connecticut Bar Association has announced the appointment of Cecil J. Thomas ’06 as the organization’s president for 2021-22. Thomas is an attorney at Greater Hartford Legal Aid, Inc., where he specializes in representing low-income clients. Thomas previously served as the CBA’s vice president in 2019-20, and has been involved in numerous activities for the organization, such as the 2020 COVID-19 Pandemic Task Force and the Diversity and Inclusion Committee.

Karen M. Sills ’06 Named to Hartford Business Journal 40 Under Forty

Karen Sills ’06 has been included in Hartford Business Journal’s 2020 40 under 40 young professionals in Connecticut list. Sills is vice president and corporate counsel at Prudential Financial, where she has worked since 2011. The 40 Under Forty Award recognizes 40 young professionals in the Greater Hartford area who are excelling in leadership roles.