Vernon D. Oliver ’97 Confirmed to Federal Bench

Vernon D. Oliver

The U.S. Senate has confirmed Vernon D. Oliver ’94 (CLAS), ’97 JD to the U.S. District Court for the District of Connecticut. President Biden nominated Oliver in May 2023, and the Senate confirmed his nomination on Sept. 19, 2023. After graduating from the UConn School of Law, Oliver worked in private practice, then served as an assistant state's attorney in the Connecticut Division of Criminal Justice from 1999 to 2004 and in the Connecticut Office of the Attorney General from 2004 to 2009. Gov. M. Jodi Rell appointed him in 2009 to the Connecticut Superior Court bench.

Ted Kennedy Jr. ’97 Speaks on ADA

Ted Kennedy, Jr. will participate in UConn’s virtual #ThisisAmerica event, speaking in a panel discussion of “The Seen and Unseen Realities for People with Disabilities” on Thursday, November 18, 2021 at 6 p.m. Kennedy, a partner at Epstein Becker Green, has more than 20 years of experience as a health care regulatory attorney and has been an active leader in the movement to expand opportunities for people with disabilities. He has served as chair of the Board of the American Association of People with Disabilities.

Lee Gold ’97 Appointed as the Chabad House’s Chairman

The Chabad House of Greater Hartford announced the appointment of Lee Gold ’97 as their new chairman of the board. Gold has been a part of the Chabad’s board since 2018, and his family has supported the organization for nearly 40 years. Gold currently practices law at Butler, Norris & Gold in Hartford, where he primarily focuses on criminal and civil litigation.

UConn Law Alumni Named in HBJ Power 50

Hartford Business Journal announced its 2021 Power 50, which aims to highlight private and public sector, nonprofit, higher education and healthcare leaders in Greater Hartford whose power and influence not only change the organizations they work for but the broader community. The following UConn Law Alumni were recognized: Matt Ritter ’07, Martin Looney ’85, Senator Christopher Murphy ’02, The Honorable Joseph D. Courtney ’78, The Honorable Kevin Kelly ’97, Jennifer Jackson ’93, Michael ’83 JD, and DeVaughn Ward ’11. Read their bios and see rankings here.