Seven UConn Law Alumni Nominated to Superior Court

Seven graduates of the UConn School of Law were nominated to the Connecticut Supreme Court by Gov. Ned Lamont on April 13, 2022. They are Scott R. Chadwick ’87, a probate judge and litigator; Assistant Connecticut Attorney General Thamar Esperance-Smith ’11; Assistant Connecticut Attorney General Josephine S. Graff ’01; New Britain State’s Attorney Brian W. Preleski ’91; Charles M. Stango ’95, the supervisory assistant state’s attorney in Milford; Greater Hartford Legal Aid attorney Cecil J. Thomas ’06; and David L. Zagaja ’93, supervisory assistant state’s attorney.

Kelly Scott ’11 Named a New Leader in the Law

Kelly A. Scott ’11, who practices family law with Pullman & Comley, has been named a 2022 New Leader in the Law by the Connecticut Law Tribune. She is past co-chair of the Family Law Committee and current chair of the Professional Responsibility Committee for the Connecticut Bar Association Young Lawyer’s Section Executive Committee. Scott will be honored at the Connecticut Legal Awards on May 11.

Ali Hayter ’11 Named to Hartford Business Journal’s 2021 “40 Under Forty” Class

The Hartford Business Journal (HBJ) has announced the appointment of Ali Hayter ’11 to their annual 40 under 40 list. Hayter is a partner at Cantor Colburn, where she focuses on the preparation and prosecution of patents, while helping domestic and foreign clients figure out their options related to specific technologies. Hayter is licensed to practice law in Connecticut. 

UConn Law Alumni Named in HBJ Power 50

Hartford Business Journal announced its 2021 Power 50, which aims to highlight private and public sector, nonprofit, higher education and healthcare leaders in Greater Hartford whose power and influence not only change the organizations they work for but the broader community. The following UConn Law Alumni were recognized: Matt Ritter ’07, Martin Looney ’85, Senator Christopher Murphy ’02, The Honorable Joseph D. Courtney ’78, The Honorable Kevin Kelly ’97, Jennifer Jackson ’93, Michael ’83 JD, and DeVaughn Ward ’11. Read their bios and see rankings here.