Seven UConn Law Alumni Nominated to Superior Court

Seven graduates of the UConn School of Law were nominated to the Connecticut Supreme Court by Gov. Ned Lamont on April 13, 2022. They are Scott R. Chadwick ’87, a probate judge and litigator; Assistant Connecticut Attorney General Thamar Esperance-Smith ’11; Assistant Connecticut Attorney General Josephine S. Graff ’01; New Britain State’s Attorney Brian W. Preleski ’91; Charles M. Stango ’95, the supervisory assistant state’s attorney in Milford; Greater Hartford Legal Aid attorney Cecil J. Thomas ’06; and David L. Zagaja ’93, supervisory assistant state’s attorney.

UConn Alumni at Willinger, Willinger, & Bucci celebrate firm expansion

The Bridgeport-based law firm of Willinger, Willinger & Bucci, have expanded its presence in the state with a new office in Shelton and will be celebrating its growth with a grand opening this month. The firm employs several UConn alumni, including James A. Lenes ’91, Heidi C. McGee ’92, Toni M. Gelineau ’80, and Christopher M. Cerami ’13.

Local Initiatives Support Corporation Names Michael Skrebutenas ’91 Senior Vice President for Housing

The Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC) has named Michael Skrebutenas ’91, a long-time national affordable housing leader, as its new senior vice president for housing. In this role, Skrebutenas will lead investment and advocacy in quality rental and for-sale housing across the country. Prior to this position, Skrebutenas worked at New York-based Community Preservation Corporation (CPC) as senior vice president and regional director of community preservation in the Albany office.

Justice Andrew McDonald ’91 Approved for Another Term

Justice Andrew McDonald ’91 has been approved for another eight-year term as an Associate Supreme Court Justice. In January of 2013, Governor Dannel Malloy nominated Justice McDonald to be an associate justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, and he was confirmed by the Connecticut General Assembly later that month. His reappointment was approved on January 14, 2021.